Equal Rites by Terry Pratchett

equal-rites

Synopsis from Amazon:

The last thing the wizard Drum Billet did, before Death laid a bony hand on his shoulder, was to pass on his staff of power to the eighth son of an eighth son. Unfortunately for his colleagues in the chauvinistic (not to say misogynistic) world of magic, he failed to check on the new-born baby’s sex…This is a third hilarious adventure by the author of “The Colour of Magic” and “The Light Fantastic.”

Well, this is the third book in the Discworld series, and like the two before, it was funny, engaging, exciting and a wonderful read. I was not disappointed at all. I found the beginning of the book a bit slow but as soon as it picked up it was full of life and adventure.

I love Pratchett’s style of writing. He has a gift. His descriptions were flawless – I could picture the scenes unfolding with no problems. He writes in a way that transports you into the Discworld and you feel like you are really there in the midst of the action.

My favourite character was Granny. What a funny lady! Almost everything she did was hilarious and I have to say, I wish my Gran was a bit  more like that!

Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed this book. This is turning into a wonderful series and I’m loving it!

9/10

Leave a comment